Hiring Standards

Working for the Jerome County Sheriff’s Office means more than just accepting a job. You're becoming part of a rich tradition of excellence and a community of people working to make a difference. 

You can become a patrol deputy, detective, detention deputy, records clerk, or choose from a variety of other administrative positions. There are also numerous opportunities for career advancement, and professional growth and development.

Disqualifiers/Hiring Standards

The Jerome County Sheriff's Office will disqualify any candidates whose background includes the following:


  • Have used marijuana within the last year. This includes usage in states and countries where marijuana has been legalized.
  • Have used any other drug (methamphetamine, heroin, cocaine, mushrooms, etc.) within the last three years.
  • Have ever sold, transported, or manufactured illegal drugs and/or associated with anyone who has been involved with these activities.

Criminal activity 

  • Any adult felony convictions.
  • Any misdemeanor conviction for crimes involving domestic battery or violence, child abuse, stalking, or "peeping Tom"
  • Any criminal probation must already have been served.


  • Have regular contact with those who use illegal drugs, are incarcerated, or on probation and/or parole.


  • Have been convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) within the last three years.
  • Have had a driver's license suspension within the last three years relating to a DUI, chemical test refusal, or points assessed due to moving traffic violations (if driving is an essential function of the job).


  • Any dishonorable discharge from any U.S. military force.
  • Any discharge from any military force other than honorable will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.


  • Misstating, omitting, or deliberately lying about anything during any stage of the hiring process.

Federal Employment Law

The Jerome County Sheriff’s Office is an Equal Opportunity Employer and does not discriminate against any employee or applicant because of race, color, religion, national origin, sex (including pregnancy), age, veteran status, marital status, physical or mental disability, and any other legally protected status.

For more info on Federal Employment laws click here.